Skip To Content

2020 ESL Jefferson Award Winners

Five Local Heroes Named 2020 ESL Jefferson Award Winners!

Congratulations to these local volunteers who were recently recognized by ESL Federal Credit Union and News 10 NBC WHEC with the 2020 ESL Jefferson Awards.

This year’s honorees are:

L. Andrew Evans

Andrew Evans founded the Rochester Construction Training Center with the goal of helping people build skills to broaden opportunities for employment success in the construction field. Participants receive training that prepares them for jobs in the construction field.

Michael Gill

Michael Gill has been caring for inhabitants of the Peace Village homeless encampment for years. Serving as a liaison between encampment residents and authorities, raising money and cooking for them, he has been instrumental in getting many homeless people off the street and improving the lives of many more.

Ruth Hogan

As a hospice and end-of-life volunteer, Ruth Hogan brings caring and compassion to those in their final days and their families. Locally, she serves at the Hildebrandt Hospice Care Center, St. Ann’s Home, Hurlbut Nursing Home and St. Joseph’s Home. She also travels twice a year to support Zululand Hospice in South Africa.

Stephanie Forrester

Seeing a need to support anyone affected by substance use disorder and addiction, Stephanie Forrester founded Hope Dealers BTC to help through outreach, community cleanup, and education.

Maia Bastianelli

As the founder of “Made By Maia,” ten-year-old Maia Bastianelli creates original artwork and sells it to raise money and awareness about inclusion for children with special health care and developmental needs across our community. She has raised nearly $40,000 for Daystar kids.

About the ESL Jefferson Awards

The ESL Jefferson Awards are part of the national Jefferson Award Foundation which strives to build a culture of service in communities across the country. Founded in 1972 by well-known public servants including former First Lady Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, the Jefferson Awards are the country’s longest standing and most prestigious honor of its kind.

One winner of the local ESL Jefferson Awards is selected each year to attend the Jefferson Awards National Ceremony in Washington, D.C.